On new routines

I’m a creature of habit.  I have my routines and I cannot lie, I enjoy when they are in place.  The thing with habits is that not all easy to pick up and some are difficult to shake.

I’ve been rather unhappy at work for the second part of this year to be honest.  I know very few people are ecstatic on a Sunday evening but I’ve been feeling a bit down about the upcoming week the moment late Sunday afternoon hits.  And it sucks.

But the past few Sundays we’ve been going to gym.  We’ll play squash for 45 minutes or if we haven’t booked a court, we will go for a run.  This past Sunday we huffed and puffed five times around the field outside the gym.  Soaking up the sun and sweating out some stress.  And I felt so much better when I returned home, climbed into the shower and Sunday evening started with a sense of calm.  I slept so well and have vowed to do it most Sundays.  It is a lovely way to round off the weekend, get the Endorphins going and feel calmer at the start of a new week.

Funny how a small change can make such a big difference.

xx

Leave a Reply

