Taking down the tree and back to work

I went back to work today.  Hubby returned on Friday but since our offices were closed for the 2nd January I had to do the first-day-back blues on my own this morning.  I didn’t sleep very well, kept waking up wondering when the alarm was going to go off.  I had that terrible night-before-school-holidays-end feeling.  Eventually the alarm sounded and the day began. Despite wearing my most flattering dress and heels I felt so pudgy.  I really over-indulged in just about anything edible this festive season and alot more of me is returning to the office compared the slightly slimmer pre-leave version.

I forgot my login details after switching on my pc so the day got off to a great start!  After getting through the e-mails and meeting the first deadline of the day, I had a cup of tea and took a deep breath.  There is so much more to life than work and I need to remember this when the office stress threatens to drown me.

This year, I decided that I will give much time and effort to my writing.  I sometimes have articles published online but I am going to submit feature articles to magazines.  If they return my article with a rejection letter then I will just try again.  And again.  And then again.  I found my NaNoWriMo novel from 2012 and decided to add to it.  I queried the average word count of a novel on Twitter and got really useful feedback.  A standard novel can be between 60,000 and 90,000 words.  My NaNoWriMo story is currently just over 50,000 words and I’m hoping to flesh the story out a bit more and give the characters more depth.

So in a nutshell, instead of studying through work and doing a course my heart isn’t in, I’m giving my everything to my true passion.  I would rather do another writing course and love it than study a subject just because it looks good on my CV.

Also, I’m going to treat my job like a job.  I’m going to rock up everyday give it my best and then leave the stress and drama at the office each afternoon.  I don’t bring my dirty dishes to the office, I am not taking colleagues politics back home with me.  I’m over it.

So here is to a great 2015!

Leave a Reply

